PDA

View Full Version : Map Light Switch Help



John and Tracy Smith
10-05-2008, 06:47 PM
Well, in the midst of our rewiring project, the map light switch in our cab has been broken beyond repair (don't ask, it's a sore subject around here!). Can anyone tell us whether this is a switch that can easily be replaced with a similar-type switch or whether we are going to have to find another stock part ASAP? Thanks for the input!

Here's a side view of the switch. The pic's a little blurry, sorry.

http://i51.photobucket.com/albums/f352/studebakertruck/IMG_4559.jpg

John and Tracy Smith
Queen Creek Arizona
http://1955studebaker.blogspot.com/
http://i51.photobucket.com/albums/f352/studebakertruck/IMG_3130.jpg http://i51.photobucket.com/albums/f352/studebakertruck/IMG_3159.jpg

Mark57
10-05-2008, 07:31 PM
It's just a regular toggle switch (SPST), so any switch that will fit the hole in the dash will work, you just want one with a long enough toggle so it's easy to operate. Graham Gagne in Nova Scotia http://www3.ns.sympatico.ca/kg.works/studeparts/updatespage.htm
has one listed for $7.00 (519157). :)

<h5>Mark
'57 Transtar Deluxe
Vancouver Island

Are you planning to attend the NW Overdrive Tour in Parksville, BC
May 23 & 24, 2009?</h5>
http://i186.photobucket.com/albums/x153/MarkH57/CandyStoreThumb.jpg

John and Tracy Smith
10-05-2008, 09:37 PM
Thank you for the help! As always, somebody on this forum saves the day!

John and Tracy Smith
Queen Creek Arizona
http://1955studebaker.blogspot.com/
http://i51.photobucket.com/albums/f352/studebakertruck/IMG_3130.jpg http://i51.photobucket.com/albums/f352/studebakertruck/IMG_3159.jpg

rkapteyn
10-05-2008, 09:59 PM
As far as i can tell, the switch you show is not the original Studebaker switch.
Blade type terminals as shown were not used until much later
The original toggle switch has one terminal grounded and the map light has one side always hot and the other
side is grounded through the switch.
I may have these switches.
Bob Kapteyn at studebaker@mac.com