PDA

View Full Version : 54 starliner hardtop -WIPER MOTOR



Tim O
11-05-2006, 12:10 PM
Newbie here, looking to replace this wiper motor (power in but no movement)
Does this look like original equiptment??
Best place to buy a replacement??

Thanks

http://i147.photobucket.com/albums/r286/TimO54_photo/wiper.jpg

64V-K7
11-05-2006, 01:21 PM
hmmm, 54 grease in the transfer case can get pretty thick, even solidify. Have you opened it up to see? You have to remove the motor from under the dash, after disconnecting the struts that provide the wiper movement. You can disassemble the motor to see if the brushes are still good. If you need new ones, a local vacuum cleaner shop may have something similar.

StudeRich
11-05-2006, 01:56 PM
You could have a very common problem with these. Remove the top cover over the "Parking Switch" a few current tests should determine if it will run bi-passing the switch.

StudeRich
Studebakers Northwest
Ferndale, WA

PaulDriver
11-05-2006, 03:53 PM
if ya wanna go to 12 volt [}:)] then this may work (worked on my 54 pickup) :)

http://sciplus.com/category.cfm?subsection=18&category=172

Crud, after listing them for several years, they no longer list the Trico windshield wiper motors

p.d.

Tim O
11-05-2006, 06:34 PM
Thanks for the info.

I forgot to mention, electrical updated to 12 volt & SNAP wire harness.
I guess I was hoping to replace with a remanufactured unit & use this one as a core.

N8N
11-05-2006, 08:05 PM
Tim,

any wiper motor from a Hawk with three wires coming out of it will work, either Autolite or American Bosch. One with four wires will not work with your original switch. I think most are three wire.

good luck,

nate

--
55 Commander Starlight
http://home.comcast.net/~njnagel

55Commander
11-06-2006, 11:05 PM
I just went through this on my 55 Commander.
After taking the motor apart and cleaning the brushes, then cleaning up the park switch it works fine. The grease in this thing was nasty.
Good Luck