transmission change

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• transmission change

My T86E-1E tranny has had it so i was hopeing that the T86E-1A i have would work in its place? Dose anyone know if i can just put it in and drive? I have a 62'Lark with the 259 V8. Thanks for any info you got. well i guess i can just try it and see. Stanley47

Same transmission and O/D unit I believe, but different tailshafts. However, I am not technically "up" to know whether you could steal the need parts from one to make the other work or not.

StudeRich (& other folks) is (are) usually pretty good at this sort of thing...?

<h5>Mark
    '57 Transtar Deluxe
    Vancouver Island

Are you planning to attend the NW Overdrive Tour in Parksville, BC
    May 23-25, 2009?
    </h5>
    Mark Hayden
    '66 Commander

Comment

Stanley, check the input shaft to see that it's the same and check the output shaft to see that it matches. If they do, it ought to work fine.

Miscreant Studebaker nut in California's central valley.

1957 Transtar 1/2ton
      1960 Larkvertible V8
      1958 Provincial wagon
      1953 Commander coupe
      1957 President two door

No deceptive flags to prove I'm patriotic - no biblical BS to impress - just ME and Studebakers - as it should be.

Comment

The Borg-Warner numbers you gave are usually transmission case casting numbers. They don't always indicate enough detail to determine the OEM application. Here's some general info and approximate change dates to look for:

1. Are you sure it is a Studebaker T86? Are the bolt patterns to the bell housing the same? Stude used two different ones, approx pre and post-'58. Yours should be the long rectangle, not the square one.
        2. Are the input shafts the same length and diameter?
        3. Is the tailshaft length the same? I think most pre-'58 cars and all T86 trucks use the short tailshaft. Yours and most post-'57 cars have a long tailshaft.