PDA

View Full Version : Issue with Carb?

56transtar
07-14-2008, 11:44 PM
I have a 56 transtar with I belive a 289 v8 not exactly sure on the motor because my grandfather repacled the original V8 with what I belive is a commander engine. anyway, it has a Stromberg WW
(2 barrel).

The issue is the motor will idle fine but when you open the throttle plates it cuts out and usually dies. Sometimes you can close them in time and it will stumblee to idle. But if you are real slow on the throttle it will rev fine. Also i'm not all thay good with carbs but i have the basic idea and I am a young Mechanic so I am somewhat competent.

I have already replaced the accelerator pump and put in new carb gaskets. But no change. I also don't see any vacumn leaks.

Last time I messed with it I noticed that there wasn't any fuel coming out of the "main jets" if thats what they are called.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Also I think I read a Rochester 2GC fits the same bolt pattern. Are all 2GC's the same will one from a firebird work? Also are there any other redilly available Carbs that fit the mainfold?

Thank you in advance

buddymander
07-15-2008, 12:04 AM
Sounds like the fuel nozzles are clogged..if this carb even has them. Do you feel a lot of resistance when you depress the accel pump by itself?

56transtar
07-15-2008, 12:08 AM
I havn't tried to depress the accel pump arm alone prehaps I shall try that tommorrow and I have been thinking about blowing some carb clean back through the fuel ports.

JDP
07-15-2008, 12:19 AM
Sounds like a bad accelerator pump. See if you are getting a squirt.

JDP/Maryland
"I'm a great believer in luck and I find the harder I work, the more I have of it."
Thomas Jefferson

sals54
07-15-2008, 03:54 AM