Advice on Replacing 289 Crankshaft

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advice on Replacing 289 Crankshaft

I am a newbie to this forum, so please forgive any breaches of protocol.

HELP! I have a 1953 Commander with a later model 289 V8. I am rebuilding the 289 V8 after a bearing failure. I believe it is an Avanti engine with a partial flow block. The existing crankshaft is damaged and bent, and the machinist feels it is best to replace the crankshaft.

The old crankshaft has a casting #537424. I have obtained a replacement crankshaft with a casting #1556444 from Lionel Stone. They are both listed as casting numbers for 1955-64 289 V-8 (3-5/8" stroke). All measurements are identical, but the new crankshaft (#1556444) is 1/2" longer from the main bearing to the front of the shaft. The same measurement on my old crankshaft is 2-3/4".

I thought the two crankshafts would be identical. I know that on cars with air conditioning or power steering, a longer crankshaft screw and retaining screws were used to accommodate the extra pulleys. But this engine has neither. Is the extra length a problem?

Thanks

John G.
    John
    1953 Commander Coupe
    1954 Champion Sedan
    1963 Lark

Yes, to an extent. I believe You need the pulley hub(I can't really call it a Harmonic Balancer) that is the right length to match this crankshaft. The "snout" on some of those cranks does vary in length. Or, so I've read here.

Comment

The 55 engine is a 259, shorter stroke then a 289. 259 is a 3.250 stroke and the 289 is a 3.625 stroke. Are you sure you have a 289 engine ? What are the engine numbers ?
      Klif

55 Speedster
      42 Champ Coupe
      55 Speedster/Street Machine
      63 Avanti R2
      64 Convertible R1

Comment

Yes, for certain it is a 289.

John G.

quote:Originally posted by klifton1