Grace's front seat

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Grace's front seat

Well, the stitches were taken out of my hand on May 12th, and even though it's still a bit sore where my carpal tunnel surgery was (and my fingers are still numb), I've gotten back to doing some light work on Grace, our '54 Commander Starliner. Like putting in 6 qts of Castrol Syntec 20W-50 with that good ol' ZDDP and reassembling the front seat backs and putting them in along with the seat bottom. When I finished last night, I just sat there and went "Ahhh."

Note that the passenger side seat back is leaning farther back than the one on the driver's side. Once the Plasti-Dip dries on the seat back adjusting screws, I'll put them in and even things up.

Guess I ought to start thinking about putting the steering wheel back on, hus?

Kindest regards,

Alan Mende
    Hummelstown, PA
    Kindest regards,

Alan Mende
    Grantville, PA

I'm not a mechanic; I don't even play one on TV.

That is a really nice looking interior. BTW What is is the Plasti-Dip on the screws for?

1952 Champion Starlight, 1962 Daytona. Searcy,Arkansas
    "In the heart of Arkansas."
    Searcy, Arkansas
    1952 Commander 2 door. Really fine 259.
    1952 2R pickup

Comment

darn that looks good! I hope my 54 Commander Starliner looks that good when I'm done. (I've only had it for 38 years!) [)] One question, though. It looks like both the pleated and unpleated parts of the door panels the same colour? My car is Sandusky Beige with a Chadron Red roof and tan interior. It is the cheapest Commander Starliner available, with no options whatever, but has a two tone interior. The unpleated parts of the door/rear quarter panels are a very light tan and the pleated sections, seats and arm rests are a medium tan. Anyway, awesome car, Alan.

Terry Godkin
      Surrey, British Columbia

Comment