barn find 60 champ pickup NEED HELP!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• barn find 60 champ pickup NEED HELP!

Hello everyone, I'm completely new to studebaker and this weekend found a 1960 shortbed step side champ pickup at a yard sale. the truck has been in the same family since it was purchased new and has been parked since 1982. the owner told me the truck was kept at a family owned cabin and only used a couple weekends a year and that the 26k on the odometer was correct. he also told me that it was running fine but overheating badly when parked. well , I bought the truck and brought it home and then realized the motor was stuck. figured I would go ahead and pull the head and see if hopefully it just had light surface rust holding it from turning. unfortunately 2 of the cylinders had 26 year old standing water in them and get this,... it had 4 completely burnt up exhaust valves.. I mean so burnt up that they looked like a pizza with on slice missing! so much for the "26k original miles" I figure. anyway. the truck has a flat head 6 and Im very curious what size it is . I found a couple different numbers on the block . looks like IE20I4I or might be 1E20141 and the other number is 15489657. I was considering rebuilding this block but would sure prefer to find someones good running take out motor which was removed when they decided to repower with something else. I feel the truck is well worth repairing . its extremely strait with perfect trim and glass and is I believe completely rust free. it has a rear sliding window and the spare tire is up on the rear fender. its even original paint and the original bumpers are strait at a pin. if anyone can figure out exactly which motor I have here I would sure be greatful. also any leads on a good running replacement would also be very helpful. if not, maybe some leads on afordable motor rebuild parts because I will most likely need EVERYTHING..... thanks for any help! Gregg