PDA

View Full Version : 6v headlights



Studebayker
10-13-2006, 09:41 PM
My '55 Stude still is 6 volts, and the hi-beams are dim, and on a
good dark nite with the low beams on you can almost see the road.
The head lamps are GE, both sets. Does anyone make a decent 6v
head lamp?





James K. Clark
Rutledge Tn.
1955 Studebaker Prez Hardtop.
Don't take yourself too seriously.

James K. Clark

53k
10-13-2006, 09:53 PM
quote:Originally posted by Studebayker

My '55 Stude still is 6 volts, and the hi-beams are dim, and on a
good dark nite with the low beams on you can almost see the road.
The head lamps are GE, both sets. Does anyone make a decent 6v
head lamp?

James K. Clark

Six-volt headlights shouldn't be that bad. You probably should for a bad ground or corroded connections.
I did buy some six-volt head lamp units from Pep Boys several years ago. I think they were Sylvania.

[img=right]http://www.frontiernet.net/~thejohnsons/64%20Daytona%20Convertible/Copy%20of%20DaytonaConvert7-20-06.JPG[/img=right]

Paul Johnson
'53 Commander Starliner (since 1966)
'64 Daytona Wagonaire (original owner)
'64 Daytona Convertible (2006)
Museum R-4 engine

rockne10
10-13-2006, 11:01 PM
Should be readily available, if not on the shelf, from any auto parts supply.

I agree. If they are working but not bright, you have an electrical problem. Some power drop can occur in every connection that's made from the battery, generator, wire ends and terminal blocks and even within the headlight switch.

Brad Johnson
Pine Grove Mills, Pa.
33 Rockne 10
51 Commander Starlight
53 Commander Starlight
http://i57.photobucket.com/albums/g233/rockne10/51x2.jpg
previously: 63 Cruiser, 62 Regal VI, 60 VI convertible, 50 LandCruiser

Dan White
10-13-2006, 11:12 PM
I have 6V on my '50 Hudson and am getting ready to put in a headlight relay and run the lights directly from the battery. I picked up a 6V headlight relay for dual beam off of ebay. Here is a site and a copy of the email from Daniel Stern about doing this on a 6V positive ground system. I am also changing over to 6V Halogens with replaceable bulbs, very much like modern cars.

http://www.danielsternlighting.com/tech/relays/relays.html

Hi, Mr. White.

yep, the same circuit works, with a couple of modifications. It's
generally best, if possible, to run off the battery rather than off the
generator unless you are *sure* you understand the specific generator
system in question and can identify the right generator terminal. This
installation also requires 6v relays. These can be devillishly hard to
find; I've set up such circuits using NAPA Echlin ST86, which is a
heavier-duty relay than you need, but better heavier than not heavy
enough. You will need two of them. Aside from that you'll need such things
as fuseholders and HD headlamp sockets, which I keep in stock. Finally,
note that you are NOT handcuffed to cruddy 60-year-old headlamp technology
just because you have a 6v car; I have Cibie E-code headlamp assemblies
and 6v quartz halogen bulbs to suit!

Let me know how I can assist;

DS


Dan White
64 R1 GT
64 R2 GT

DilloCrafter
10-14-2006, 03:01 PM
The gentleman who owns Fifth Ave. Internet Garage has resources to help you with installing 6v headlight relays (you will need two - one for low beams and one for high beams). He is a new member of this forum, and I invite him to chime in, if he would like.

Here is his page discussing the benefits of headlight relays:
http://www.fifthaveinternetgarage.com/tech_tips/tech_tips_headlight_relays.html

Here is his page with the relays for sale:
http://www.fifthaveinternetgarage.com/parts/parts_counter_2.html

http://rocketdillo.com/studebaker/misc/images/Current_Avacar.gif[/img=left] - DilloCrafter

1955 1/2 Ton Pickup
[i]The Red-Headed Amazon
Deep in the heart of Texas

Dan White
10-14-2006, 05:35 PM
If you watch ebay you can pickup a dual 6V headlight relay fairly cheap, I got one for $6.99. If you can find one of those you do not need to single relays. Type in 6V Headlight relay for the search.

Dan White
64 R1 GT
64 R2 GT

Roscomacaw
10-14-2006, 06:58 PM
As I mentioned in an earlier thread on this topic, I have a pair of NORS HL relays sitting on my desk here. They're only single circuit (either hi or low beam - not both) but they're brand new and 50s vintage so they LOOK right on the firewall or fender apron. They even sport a fading decal that says they were made in Omaha! Try that with some black plastic block of a relay from China.[xx(]

Besides, If you have one of these in your low beam circuit, that's all you really need most of the time.

Miscreant adrift in
the BerStuda Triangle!!

1957 Transtar 1/2ton
1960 Larkvertible V8
1958 Provincial wagon
1953 Commander coupe

wayne
10-14-2006, 08:45 PM
I put relays on my 51 and I see a great improvment.

37CoupeE
10-14-2006, 09:03 PM
Most electrical problems can be traced to a ground problem.
A 6 volt system is just as good as a 12 volt if it is well maintained.

gecoe
10-14-2006, 09:53 PM
and, if the relays Mr. Biggs has are the same as the ones I got from him, they have the bonus factor of built-in fuses so you don't have to add fuse holders into the circuits when you replumb the car's headlight system.

Gerry
NE Colorado

Roscomacaw
10-15-2006, 06:39 PM
They DO have fuses on them.;)

Miscreant adrift in
the BerStuda Triangle!!

1957 Transtar 1/2ton
1960 Larkvertible V8
1958 Provincial wagon
1953 Commander coupe

Tom B
10-15-2006, 07:54 PM
Not to put down the relays, but...

After my '53 coupe came back from rehab, the high beams were quite dim. Considerable study (two years) determined that the bulbs were wired wrong and that both filaments were hot when the high beams were on and there wasn't enough juice to put light out in front of the car.

Tom Bredehoft
'53 Commander Coupe
'60 Lark VI
'05 Legacy Ltd Wagon
All three Indiana built OD cars

Studebayker
10-15-2006, 08:02 PM
Thanks for all the input men. I've checked the grounds o ohms from
battery post to headlites. I have 6v alternator on the car. I think
I'll try to find some 6v relays, and use 10ga wire from the relays to the headlamps. Dan, how much do the relays you have cost? Thanks.



James K. Clark
Rutledge Tn.
'55 Prez 2dr hardtop
Don't take yourself too seriously!

James K. Clark

curt
10-15-2006, 08:31 PM
Clean connections! Also, I had a friend who said run a seperate ground wire from the lights to the battery. I see 6V hallogen lights are for sale, that looks good to me, has anyone tried 6V hallogen? Also,I once had poor 6V headlights and found the problem to be a bad voltage regulator.

Jimmy Clarke
10-15-2006, 10:23 PM
I had a 42 dodge with converted 12v system. I drove that truck daily, and learned to live with really dim headlights at night. Long story short, one day I was just tinkering around and discovered my ground (3 prong connector) on one light was wired incorrectly. If your producing correct juice, and your grounding system is solid, check your connectors. Hope that helps....Jimmy

CHAMP
10-17-2006, 05:09 PM
My 48 Champion has been rewired but is wired as it was from the factory and the lights seem fine to me. I even had an oncoming car flash his lights at me cause my lights were to bright for him and they were on low beam. And they are properly adjusted.

GARY H 2DR.SEDAN 48 STUDEBAKER CHAMPION NORTHEAST MD.

Studebayker
10-18-2006, 08:56 PM
I finally found time to work on the Stude this morning(too foggy to drive). The headlight wires were all wrong. I rewiresd them. Presto
light you can actually see by, but I'm still going for the 10ga
wire, and the relays. I suppose the idiot who wired the head lites
was the same one who put the wiper cam on upside down. Wonder what I'll discover next. Thanks for all The information.



James K. Clark
Eastern Tenn
1955 Stude Prez 2dr Hatdtop
Don't take yourself too seriously

James K. Clark