PDA

View Full Version : Opinions Needed for purchase

DaSmokeEater
04-19-2019, 02:20 PM
They are asking $4000 for this 1957 President. I am totally new to this as well as the Forum (Hi!) and kinda want to know what I'm getting into if I pull the trigger. Please look at the pictures and tell me if anything stands out to you (I know I'm in for new pipes and mufflers). I'd be using it as a fun summer car, not show car, and to teach my wife and son's how to drive stick also (3 on the tree).

Thanks!

Stan80340803418034280343

StudeRich
04-19-2019, 02:47 PM
In most of our humble opinion here, finding a President Classic "Y" Body Long Wheelbase Sedan in that good looking condition WITH the much desired 3 Speed Manual WITH Overdrive is rare and HUGE PLUS! :!:

This is the Luxury, Top of line Sedan, comparable to the upscale Buick's, Oldsmobile's, Mercury's and Desoto's.

But like any old Car it is sure to need the standard long standing/stored Car freshening up, flush ALL Fluids, especially Brake fluid possibly rebuild the system etc. After that it will be the BEST Driving Car ever, with it's Rear Stabilizer Bar only used on that model and 225 H.P. 4 Barrel, Dual Exhaust, Studebaker 289! :cool:

Guess what, you will be tasked with not only teaching your Family how to drive Manual Trans. Cars, but also learning and teaching probably ALL of you, how to Drive a Manual Overdrive Car, with SIX available Ratios, most of the time using Four! :ohmy:

For an Illinois Car, the undercarriage does not look terrible, the exhaust only looks like surface rust, not totally rotted out.
From the bottom, the floors do not look gone but a top view under the Carpet would be good to have.
The price is in the Ball Park for the common Automatic Cars, but I think an Overdrive should be MORE.

Noxnabaker
04-19-2019, 02:50 PM