PDA

View Full Version : OT internet connections



ddub
02-07-2008, 02:36 PM
I keep seeing references to Studebaker videos. Not practical on my dial up connection. Does anyone out there have experience with a satelite connection?

Don Wilson
53 Commander Hardtop
64 Champ 1/2 ton
Centralia, WA

jnewkirk77
02-07-2008, 03:10 PM
Don,

Satellite internet is OK if you don't mind losing the signal when the weather isn't great. Do you have any other options open to you? I know that my aunt, who lives in a very rural part of NE South Dakota, has high-speed service through her telephone cooperative, and a couple of years ago, she finally was able to get cable TV that is delivered through her phone line and it is pretty reasonably priced. That's pretty neat stuff, and it seems to be catching on in a number of areas around the country. Sure beats dial-up and two TV stations, which was all she had until they got to her with the new service.

If you have cable TV, as I do, cable internet is awesome. It's about 5x faster than the DSL service I had, and it's not much more expensive. Even if I downgrade my service to "only" 3x faster than DSL, it's the same price. Most of your major cable systems (Time Warner, Comcast, Insight, Cox, etc.) have fairly decent internet service. I am with Time Warner and like it a lot.

Just some ideas for you to explore there. Hope they help!

Jacob Newkirk - Owensboro, KY

KEEP AMERICA BEAUTIFUL! Drive a Studebaker!

jnewkirk77
02-07-2008, 03:10 PM
Don,

Satellite internet is OK if you don't mind losing the signal when the weather isn't great. Do you have any other options open to you? I know that my aunt, who lives in a very rural part of NE South Dakota, has high-speed service through her telephone cooperative, and a couple of years ago, she finally was able to get cable TV that is delivered through her phone line and it is pretty reasonably priced. That's pretty neat stuff, and it seems to be catching on in a number of areas around the country. Sure beats dial-up and two TV stations, which was all she had until they got to her with the new service.

If you have cable TV, as I do, cable internet is awesome. It's about 5x faster than the DSL service I had, and it's not much more expensive. Even if I downgrade my service to "only" 3x faster than DSL, it's the same price. Most of your major cable systems (Time Warner, Comcast, Insight, Cox, etc.) have fairly decent internet service. I am with Time Warner and like it a lot.

Just some ideas for you to explore there. Hope they help!

Jacob Newkirk - Owensboro, KY

KEEP AMERICA BEAUTIFUL! Drive a Studebaker!

jlmccuan
02-07-2008, 03:11 PM
I am not very satisfied with Wildblue, offered by DISH.

Jim
http://i186.photobucket.com/albums/x98/jlmccuan/Avanti/AvantiSignature.jpghttp://i186.photobucket.com/albums/x98/jlmccuan/Avanti/Logo/RabidSnailSignature.jpg
_________1966 Avanti II RQA 0088______________Rabid Snail Racing

jlmccuan
02-07-2008, 03:11 PM
I am not very satisfied with Wildblue, offered by DISH.

Jim
http://i186.photobucket.com/albums/x98/jlmccuan/Avanti/AvantiSignature.jpghttp://i186.photobucket.com/albums/x98/jlmccuan/Avanti/Logo/RabidSnailSignature.jpg
_________1966 Avanti II RQA 0088______________Rabid Snail Racing

glen
02-07-2008, 03:12 PM
Don,
Satelite is for those who have no other avenue to go. Hughes
is making a big splash on TV now, and offers a $100 rebate.
Problem is that their equipt and normal install (must have
a good view to the southern sky)is $399.00 so the $100.00 is
after the fact. Their normal service, is $59.95 a month, about
2x's that of DSL and more than a Cable connection, whose cost
is dependent on your cable company. While it sound inviting,
unless you have no other way....DSL, from your local TELCO or
Cable is still a better deal. There are other satelite companies
out there other than Hughes, but their costs are about the same.





glen Brose - Perkinsville, AZ
http://i57.photobucket.com/albums/g204/glen_05/Studebakersign.jpg

glen
02-07-2008, 03:12 PM
Don,
Satelite is for those who have no other avenue to go. Hughes
is making a big splash on TV now, and offers a $100 rebate.
Problem is that their equipt and normal install (must have
a good view to the southern sky)is $399.00 so the $100.00 is
after the fact. Their normal service, is $59.95 a month, about
2x's that of DSL and more than a Cable connection, whose cost
is dependent on your cable company. While it sound inviting,
unless you have no other way....DSL, from your local TELCO or
Cable is still a better deal. There are other satelite companies
out there other than Hughes, but their costs are about the same.





glen Brose - Perkinsville, AZ
http://i57.photobucket.com/albums/g204/glen_05/Studebakersign.jpg

Mark57
02-07-2008, 04:40 PM
I have had Hi-speed internet via my cable company for over 5 years - no hook-up fees, free modem and costs me $41/month + tax. Runs about 54 Mbps and I've never had a problem - unless there is a power outage. ;)

<h5>Mark
'57 Transtar
3E-6/7-122 </h5>
http://i186.photobucket.com/albums/x153/MarkH57/57Transtar1.jpg

Mark57
02-07-2008, 04:40 PM
I have had Hi-speed internet via my cable company for over 5 years - no hook-up fees, free modem and costs me $41/month + tax. Runs about 54 Mbps and I've never had a problem - unless there is a power outage. ;)

<h5>Mark
'57 Transtar
3E-6/7-122 </h5>
http://i186.photobucket.com/albums/x153/MarkH57/57Transtar1.jpg

glen
02-07-2008, 05:56 PM
I believe that Hughes and the other satelite
companies provide about 52 Mpbs....if you want
more...then write a much larger check per month
than the $59.95 for basic service.

glen Brose - Perkinsville, AZ
http://i57.photobucket.com/albums/g204/glen_05/Studebakersign.jpg

glen
02-07-2008, 05:56 PM
I believe that Hughes and the other satelite
companies provide about 52 Mpbs....if you want
more...then write a much larger check per month
than the $59.95 for basic service.

glen Brose - Perkinsville, AZ
http://i57.photobucket.com/albums/g204/glen_05/Studebakersign.jpg

bams50
02-07-2008, 08:02 PM
Boy, I'd love to have any of those options! My house is 3 years old this month, yet I still only have dial-up available[}:)] The main station for cable is about 3 miles from me, yet they won't bring it up my road unless I pay a fee of $5600. The phone system is too antiquated for DSL, and they say there are no plans to upgrade it.

The satellite companies I've talked to want $5-600 for the dish, plus $79/month for service- and they can't even guarantee what my speed will be! I bought a wireless card for my laptop- $59/month; works fine, but is no faster than dial-up. There are several companies who are offering similar deals, but don't "yet" have coverage in my area.

I have satellite TV, and it works fine; no complaints... other than that ugly dish tacked on the front corner of the roof[xx(] I REALLY don't want a second one on there[V]

I predict that a viable solution is right around the corner for me. In fact, I bet, before long there will be high-speed wireless available anywhere you go... the technology to deliver it is there, just not a system to make sure everyone that uses it pays...

So for now, I get by by making a mental note of videos and picture albums posted, and look at them all on the weekends when we're at my other house- where I have cable;) Or, if I need to upload or download something large like a video, or need hi-speed to bid on something on eBay at the end, I take my laptop and drive into town and park behind McDonald's, where I can mooch off their Wi-Fi... that's how I bought the pair of 62 Daytonas from John Batka- with 21 seconds left[^]

Robert (Bob) Andrews Owner- Studebakeracres- on the IoMT (Island of Misfit Toys!)
Parish, central NY 13131

bams50
02-07-2008, 08:02 PM
Boy, I'd love to have any of those options! My house is 3 years old this month, yet I still only have dial-up available[}:)] The main station for cable is about 3 miles from me, yet they won't bring it up my road unless I pay a fee of $5600. The phone system is too antiquated for DSL, and they say there are no plans to upgrade it.

The satellite companies I've talked to want $5-600 for the dish, plus $79/month for service- and they can't even guarantee what my speed will be! I bought a wireless card for my laptop- $59/month; works fine, but is no faster than dial-up. There are several companies who are offering similar deals, but don't "yet" have coverage in my area.

I have satellite TV, and it works fine; no complaints... other than that ugly dish tacked on the front corner of the roof[xx(] I REALLY don't want a second one on there[V]

I predict that a viable solution is right around the corner for me. In fact, I bet, before long there will be high-speed wireless available anywhere you go... the technology to deliver it is there, just not a system to make sure everyone that uses it pays...

So for now, I get by by making a mental note of videos and picture albums posted, and look at them all on the weekends when we're at my other house- where I have cable;) Or, if I need to upload or download something large like a video, or need hi-speed to bid on something on eBay at the end, I take my laptop and drive into town and park behind McDonald's, where I can mooch off their Wi-Fi... that's how I bought the pair of 62 Daytonas from John Batka- with 21 seconds left[^]

Robert (Bob) Andrews Owner- Studebakeracres- on the IoMT (Island of Misfit Toys!)
Parish, central NY 13131

terrymb
02-07-2008, 08:23 PM
I don't use it myself, but there are cell phone services that allow you to use your cell phone hooked up to your computer to access the internet. I think it's at least as fast as DSL and the same monthly fee. I'm not sure which companies offer it either, but it's worth checking out.
Terry

1952 Commander Starlight

terrymb
02-07-2008, 08:23 PM
I don't use it myself, but there are cell phone services that allow you to use your cell phone hooked up to your computer to access the internet. I think it's at least as fast as DSL and the same monthly fee. I'm not sure which companies offer it either, but it's worth checking out.
Terry

1952 Commander Starlight

glen
02-07-2008, 08:42 PM
Bams,
I have High Speed wireless now, works on the basis of how
microwave communications use to work for the TELCO's. I have
a small flat dish on the highest point of my roof, which is
aimed at the nearest relay station (tower), about 15 miles
away, and that tower is aimed at the companies main facility
tower, everything is beamed back and forth. For the most part
it works, but during our monsoonal season (Jul - Sept) the
towers are magnets for ligthing strikes and during the normal
winter storms.....wet. Not perfect, but where I live in the
"Zone", there is no phone company or cable, but the rate is
$39.95 a month, for what DSL or cable would give.


glen Brose - Perkinsville, AZ
http://i57.photobucket.com/albums/g204/glen_05/Studebakersign.jpg

glen
02-07-2008, 08:42 PM
Bams,
I have High Speed wireless now, works on the basis of how
microwave communications use to work for the TELCO's. I have
a small flat dish on the highest point of my roof, which is
aimed at the nearest relay station (tower), about 15 miles
away, and that tower is aimed at the companies main facility
tower, everything is beamed back and forth. For the most part
it works, but during our monsoonal season (Jul - Sept) the
towers are magnets for ligthing strikes and during the normal
winter storms.....wet. Not perfect, but where I live in the
"Zone", there is no phone company or cable, but the rate is
$39.95 a month, for what DSL or cable would give.


glen Brose - Perkinsville, AZ
http://i57.photobucket.com/albums/g204/glen_05/Studebakersign.jpg

DEEPNHOCK
02-07-2008, 08:53 PM
Talking ISP providers (dial up, cable, satellite) is almost like talking Windows/Linux/Mac, etc...
Lot's of choices...if you live where there are choices.
Rule of thumb (guarantee'd to be obsolete info in six months)..
Cable is fastest.
Satellite is good (depending on your location...South facing dish, etc.)
Satellites are dependent on a good view, so storms can mess up the signal.
I have Hughes satellite, and I find it OK...
If you want faster (and larger download capacity), then you pay for an upgrade that will allow more.
I did the upgrade and find it real good for what I do.
Not as fast as the cable setup I used to have, but good.
I travel a lot and use all sorts of wireless ISP setups from all sorts of motels, etc.
They all act about the same to me.
My satellite setup ran about $400 for the hardware and about $70 a month for the service.
Only time I lose service is during the height of a thunderstorm.
Even then I am usually shut down for a fear of frying the computer(s).
I do run all my 'puter's through a wireless network and it all works good.
Jeff[8D]



quote:Originally posted by ddub

I keep seeing references to videos. Not practical on my dial up connection. Does anyone out there have experience with a satelite connection?

DEEPNHOCK
02-07-2008, 08:53 PM
Talking ISP providers (dial up, cable, satellite) is almost like talking Windows/Linux/Mac, etc...
Lot's of choices...if you live where there are choices.
Rule of thumb (guarantee'd to be obsolete info in six months)..
Cable is fastest.
Satellite is good (depending on your location...South facing dish, etc.)
Satellites are dependent on a good view, so storms can mess up the signal.
I have Hughes satellite, and I find it OK...
If you want faster (and larger download capacity), then you pay for an upgrade that will allow more.
I did the upgrade and find it real good for what I do.
Not as fast as the cable setup I used to have, but good.
I travel a lot and use all sorts of wireless ISP setups from all sorts of motels, etc.
They all act about the same to me.
My satellite setup ran about $400 for the hardware and about $70 a month for the service.
Only time I lose service is during the height of a thunderstorm.
Even then I am usually shut down for a fear of frying the computer(s).
I do run all my 'puter's through a wireless network and it all works good.
Jeff[8D]



quote:Originally posted by ddub

I keep seeing references to videos. Not practical on my dial up connection. Does anyone out there have experience with a satelite connection?

61hawk
02-07-2008, 09:22 PM
quote:Originally posted by Mark57

I have had Hi-speed internet via my cable company for over 5 years - no hook-up fees, free modem and costs me $41/month + tax. Runs about 54 Mbps and I've never had a problem - unless there is a power outage. ;)

<h5>Mark
'57 Transtar
3E-6/7-122 </h5>
http://i186.photobucket.com/albums/x153/MarkH57/57Transtar1.jpg


Are you sure on those numbers? I've never seen anything over 17MB for the home and that's over fiber optics and only available in test markets. Time Warner Cable here has three tiers... 1.5MB, 3MB & 6MB.

61hawk
02-07-2008, 09:22 PM
quote:Originally posted by Mark57

I have had Hi-speed internet via my cable company for over 5 years - no hook-up fees, free modem and costs me $41/month + tax. Runs about 54 Mbps and I've never had a problem - unless there is a power outage. ;)

<h5>Mark
'57 Transtar
3E-6/7-122 </h5>
http://i186.photobucket.com/albums/x153/MarkH57/57Transtar1.jpg


Are you sure on those numbers? I've never seen anything over 17MB for the home and that's over fiber optics and only available in test markets. Time Warner Cable here has three tiers... 1.5MB, 3MB & 6MB.

DEEPNHOCK
02-07-2008, 09:25 PM
I just ran a connection speed test on my laptop and I have 54Mps right now (and that is satellite through the wireless router)...
Jeff[8D]


quote:
Are you sure on those numbers? I've never seen anything over 17MB for the home and that's over fiber optics and only available in test markets. Time Warner Cable here has three tiers... 1.5MB, 3MB & 6MB.

DEEPNHOCK
02-07-2008, 09:25 PM
I just ran a connection speed test on my laptop and I have 54Mps right now (and that is satellite through the wireless router)...
Jeff[8D]


quote:
Are you sure on those numbers? I've never seen anything over 17MB for the home and that's over fiber optics and only available in test markets. Time Warner Cable here has three tiers... 1.5MB, 3MB & 6MB.

Karl
02-07-2008, 09:32 PM
So what or how does 100Mbps compare to whats out there??thats my DSL conection speed.;)

http://i117.photobucket.com/albums/o50/twnchgr/Picture2061-1.jpg

Karl
02-07-2008, 09:32 PM
So what or how does 100Mbps compare to whats out there??thats my DSL conection speed.;)

http://i117.photobucket.com/albums/o50/twnchgr/Picture2061-1.jpg

terrymb
02-07-2008, 09:40 PM
Sounds like you're testing the speed of your wireless router or wired router. To check your internet speed, use this website.
http://www.speedtest.net/
Even looks like a speedometer.
Terry

1952 Commander Starlight

terrymb
02-07-2008, 09:40 PM
Sounds like you're testing the speed of your wireless router or wired router. To check your internet speed, use this website.
http://www.speedtest.net/
Even looks like a speedometer.
Terry

1952 Commander Starlight

DilloCrafter
02-07-2008, 09:44 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/231841327.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

http://simps.us/studebaker/misc/images/Avacar-hcsdc.gif[/img=left]
Paul Simpson
"DilloCrafter"

1955 1/2 Ton Pickup
[i]The Red-Headed Amazon
Deep in the heart of Texas

DilloCrafter
02-07-2008, 09:44 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/231841327.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

http://simps.us/studebaker/misc/images/Avacar-hcsdc.gif[/img=left]
Paul Simpson
"DilloCrafter"

1955 1/2 Ton Pickup
[i]The Red-Headed Amazon
Deep in the heart of Texas

gordr
02-08-2008, 01:05 AM
Well, I'm on satellite right this very minute. I did the speed test, and got 846 kb/s download, and 75 on the upload. Thing is, this is a shared connection at a wellsite, and a number of users are networked to the dish. Sometimes it comes to a screaming halt. That would not be an issue for an individual subscriber with a private dish.

At home, I have wireless broadband, carried on a microwave link from a tower atop a grain terminal about 4 miles distant from the house. The antenna on my house is a slab of gray plastic about 4" by 10", and it's quite unobtrusive. It's been in for about 2 years now, and I'm real happy with it. There's been some down time, but really very little.

If you can get wireless broadband, it's definitely a better deal than satellite. If you can't get it in your area, maybe check into becoming your local dealer for the service. Could be money to be made in it.

Gord Richmond, within Weasel range of the Alberta Badlands

gordr
02-08-2008, 01:05 AM
Well, I'm on satellite right this very minute. I did the speed test, and got 846 kb/s download, and 75 on the upload. Thing is, this is a shared connection at a wellsite, and a number of users are networked to the dish. Sometimes it comes to a screaming halt. That would not be an issue for an individual subscriber with a private dish.

At home, I have wireless broadband, carried on a microwave link from a tower atop a grain terminal about 4 miles distant from the house. The antenna on my house is a slab of gray plastic about 4" by 10", and it's quite unobtrusive. It's been in for about 2 years now, and I'm real happy with it. There's been some down time, but really very little.

If you can get wireless broadband, it's definitely a better deal than satellite. If you can't get it in your area, maybe check into becoming your local dealer for the service. Could be money to be made in it.

Gord Richmond, within Weasel range of the Alberta Badlands

bams50
02-08-2008, 04:22 AM
Funny thing about wireless BB is, I get pitched on it occasionally. I always express my interest, which perks up the sales person. So they excitedly ask for my zip code, and punch it into their mapping program. It's kind of funny to see their faces dim down when they say "Ohhh, looks like you're just outside our service area..." Then they take my info down and say they'll call as soon as their coverage area expands to my place.

I wait every day for one of those calls.....:)

Robert (Bob) Andrews Owner- Studebakeracres- on the IoMT (Island of Misfit Toys!)
Parish, central NY 13131

bams50
02-08-2008, 04:22 AM
Funny thing about wireless BB is, I get pitched on it occasionally. I always express my interest, which perks up the sales person. So they excitedly ask for my zip code, and punch it into their mapping program. It's kind of funny to see their faces dim down when they say "Ohhh, looks like you're just outside our service area..." Then they take my info down and say they'll call as soon as their coverage area expands to my place.

I wait every day for one of those calls.....:)

Robert (Bob) Andrews Owner- Studebakeracres- on the IoMT (Island of Misfit Toys!)
Parish, central NY 13131

ddub
02-14-2008, 03:15 PM
I have the same experience as Bams. No cable, no DSL. Thanks for all the tips. There may be something out there so I can see those Studebaker videos!

Don Wilson
53 Commander Hardtop
64 Champ 1/2 ton
Centralia, WA

ddub
02-14-2008, 03:15 PM
I have the same experience as Bams. No cable, no DSL. Thanks for all the tips. There may be something out there so I can see those Studebaker videos!

Don Wilson
53 Commander Hardtop
64 Champ 1/2 ton
Centralia, WA

PlainBrownR2
02-14-2008, 06:36 PM
Count me in as well, no cable, no dsl. Too far from the municipality center. So its wireless or dialup. Comcast won't budge on it either. They're attitude seems to be, won't happen this
century, maybe sometime in the distant next. The funny thing is I had cable(along with the TV) at college, so when they talk about the wonders of cable, its like waving a carrot in front of a hungry mule [:o)]. I'd love though to see Illinois pull a Wyoming, where they say "alright since neither Comcast nor AT&T will splurge for a line, we'll run fiber optic to the more remote areas of the state". Yeah I'd love that back to see some of the Studebaker content on the web, or the YouTube movies without waiting until the sun explodes.

Now, we have wireless out here. A few of my neighbors are business owners, so thats there main mode outside of dialup. We had some much more local, and much smaller wireless providers, but I think they went by the wayside a few years back. I tried for an internship at one of the places, simple plug in Lucent network card that has a plug in daughterboard, do the software install including ID'ing the servers, and away you go. Functioned somewhat like a radio station, wanna reach the listeners(customers), you gotta be able to reach them. Course this is 10 years ago, so I know that things have improved significantly since then.....

Anything better than 100 Mb/S? Well how high you wanna go? There's a couple research labs out here with 1 GB/S(might be higher than that now) networks, which is 1000 Mb/S, or 1 Gb/S network frameworks(the parts are capable even if the network isn't fully capable yet).


1964 Studebaker Commander R2 clone
1950 Studebaker 2R5 with 170 turbocharged
[img=left]http://i158.photobucket.com/albums/t102/PlainBrownR2/DSC00003.jpg?t=1171152673[/img=left]
[img=right]http://i158.photobucket.com/albums/t102/PlainBrownR2/DSC00009.jpg?t=1171153019[/img=right]
[img=left]http://i158.photobucket.com/albums/t102/PlainBrownR2/DSC00002.jpg?t=1171153180[/img=left]
[img=right]http://i158.photobucket.com/albums/t102/PlainBrownR2/DSC00005.jpg?t=1171153370[/img=right]

PlainBrownR2
02-14-2008, 06:36 PM
Count me in as well, no cable, no dsl. Too far from the municipality center. So its wireless or dialup. Comcast won't budge on it either. They're attitude seems to be, won't happen this
century, maybe sometime in the distant next. The funny thing is I had cable(along with the TV) at college, so when they talk about the wonders of cable, its like waving a carrot in front of a hungry mule [:o)]. I'd love though to see Illinois pull a Wyoming, where they say "alright since neither Comcast nor AT&T will splurge for a line, we'll run fiber optic to the more remote areas of the state". Yeah I'd love that back to see some of the Studebaker content on the web, or the YouTube movies without waiting until the sun explodes.

Now, we have wireless out here. A few of my neighbors are business owners, so thats there main mode outside of dialup. We had some much more local, and much smaller wireless providers, but I think they went by the wayside a few years back. I tried for an internship at one of the places, simple plug in Lucent network card that has a plug in daughterboard, do the software install including ID'ing the servers, and away you go. Functioned somewhat like a radio station, wanna reach the listeners(customers), you gotta be able to reach them. Course this is 10 years ago, so I know that things have improved significantly since then.....

Anything better than 100 Mb/S? Well how high you wanna go? There's a couple research labs out here with 1 GB/S(might be higher than that now) networks, which is 1000 Mb/S, or 1 Gb/S network frameworks(the parts are capable even if the network isn't fully capable yet).


1964 Studebaker Commander R2 clone
1950 Studebaker 2R5 with 170 turbocharged
[img=left]http://i158.photobucket.com/albums/t102/PlainBrownR2/DSC00003.jpg?t=1171152673[/img=left]
[img=right]http://i158.photobucket.com/albums/t102/PlainBrownR2/DSC00009.jpg?t=1171153019[/img=right]
[img=left]http://i158.photobucket.com/albums/t102/PlainBrownR2/DSC00002.jpg?t=1171153180[/img=left]
[img=right]http://i158.photobucket.com/albums/t102/PlainBrownR2/DSC00005.jpg?t=1171153370[/img=right]

DEEPNHOCK
02-14-2008, 07:02 PM
I have had Hughesnet for over a year now.
Here's what I found good/bad about them.

$400+ for the equipment (Rebate helps, but you still have to buy the dish, the cable, and the modem.

You will end up wanting more than the base packsge. I went with the $70 a month upgrade and like the speed and bigger download limit.
Speed? Not quite as fast as Cable/Modem, but plenty fast. You get used to the packets being uploaded and downloaded, and the short hiccup it does when that is happening, but after a while you just ignore it.

Download limit. You have a limit as to how much you can download in a 24 hour period. If you pass that mark, your system slows way down until the next time period starts.
(That limit is waived if you upload/download at 3am).

Southern view of sky...yes.
Only time I ever lose signal is during a nasty thunderstorm.
(and I shut off my 'puter when it gets that bad anyways).

I have Hughesnet because there is no cable anywhere near here (DSL either).

All in all?
I like the satellite just fine.
Jeff[8D]


quote:Originally posted by ddub

I keep seeing references to Studebaker videos. Not practical on my dial up connection. Does anyone out there have experience with a satelite connection?
Don Wilson

DEEPNHOCK
02-14-2008, 07:02 PM
I have had Hughesnet for over a year now.
Here's what I found good/bad about them.

$400+ for the equipment (Rebate helps, but you still have to buy the dish, the cable, and the modem.

You will end up wanting more than the base packsge. I went with the $70 a month upgrade and like the speed and bigger download limit.
Speed? Not quite as fast as Cable/Modem, but plenty fast. You get used to the packets being uploaded and downloaded, and the short hiccup it does when that is happening, but after a while you just ignore it.

Download limit. You have a limit as to how much you can download in a 24 hour period. If you pass that mark, your system slows way down until the next time period starts.
(That limit is waived if you upload/download at 3am).

Southern view of sky...yes.
Only time I ever lose signal is during a nasty thunderstorm.
(and I shut off my 'puter when it gets that bad anyways).

I have Hughesnet because there is no cable anywhere near here (DSL either).

All in all?
I like the satellite just fine.
Jeff[8D]


quote:Originally posted by ddub

I keep seeing references to Studebaker videos. Not practical on my dial up connection. Does anyone out there have experience with a satelite connection?
Don Wilson