Is this a stock bed?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is this a stock bed?

I was looking at the pictures of this Studebaker pickup on eBay and something looked out of proportion. Is this just a long wheelbase bed or has it been modified? To my eye the rear fender looks closer to the cab than usual, but I am not an expert.
    Attached Files
    "In the heart of Arkansas."
    Searcy, Arkansas
    1952 Commander 2 door. Really fine 259.
    1952 2R pickup

Imho, the fender-to-cab distance looks fine, but the end of the bed is what strikes me as long. A nine-foot bed, perhaps?
    Mike Davis
    1964 Champ 8E7-122 "Stuey"

Comment

The only long wheelbase pictures I came up with looked like the rear and front were about the same. However, there are not many pictures with good side views.
      Searcy, Arkansas
      1952 2R pickup

Comment

Maybe the Bed is stock length,and other mods were made may be a different Frame and such ?
        Joseph R. Zeiger

Comment

It sure looks great, in that picture!
          sigpic

S2Deluxe = (5H - C3).

Comment

The bed has been modified - end stake holes should be all the way in the corners - the front ones look to be 1 foot (or so) back from the front of the bed.

Comment

Which begs the question of why have stake pockets in a custom show truck which will never haul a pig to market?

And all that custom paint, but underneath is supposedly a flathead six and a 5-speed?

jack vines
              Last edited by PackardV8; 07-02-2018, 03:37 PM.
              PackardV8

Comment

Originally posted by PackardV8 View Post
                Which begs the question of why have stake pockets in a custom show truck which will never haul a pig to market?

And all that custom paint, but underneath is supposedly a flathead six and a 5-speed?

jack vines
                The interior shot is not great, but the shifter appears to be an S-10 type.
                Searcy, Arkansas
                1952 2R pickup

Comment