PDA

View Full Version : Learning the ropes...

severalsins
04-01-2018, 11:01 PM
As I'd posted elsewhere, I'm new to the Stude Club as I recently purchased my first one this past month - a 1959 Lark Hardtop. I attended my first meeting with the fine folks in the NW Chapter here in Portland. Lots of real nice people, and looking forward to the next meeting.

I was wondering if there's anyone from the chapter or anyone who lives in/near Portland who might be willing to show me the ropes a bit. Starting from the basics to keep the Lark running (oil, transmission fluid, filters, etc). I've been reading up on the shop and owners manual, and there's a lot of regular greasing up on zerks recommended, but it doesn't show any pictures - so I'm kind of shooting in the dark and don't want to cause more harm than good.

I'm not looking for any free labor at all, just someone to point things out and give me some guidance in-person - I'll do the dirty work and meet where its convenient for you so I can learn. Heck, the oldest car I'd owned prior to this was 94 Volvo. Things look a bit different under the hood.

Thanks kindly!
Ronnie

TWChamp
04-02-2018, 02:34 AM
Your shop manual should show the chassis and location of all the grease zerks. I like to have a separate grease chart, so I look on ebay and buy the cardboard chart for about $10. I was just looking at my 1950 Commander lubrication chart, and it shows 51 places to lubricate, with 39 being grease zerks. I'm sure you'll get lots of help in your area.

StudeRich
04-02-2018, 03:58 AM
Welcome to the SDC and to the SDC Forum Ronnie! :)

That is a VERY sharp '59 Regal 2 Door Hardtop, definitely the Sexiest looking of all the Body Types. :!:

Here is a Great place for New owners to get started:

http://www.studebakerdriversclub.com/TechThings2do.asp

Noxnabaker
04-02-2018, 05:28 AM
Found these by just googling:

Might not be the exactly proper models but ought to give you a hint...

TWChamp
04-02-2018, 11:32 AM