Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

1951 Commander 4 door Need to sell What's it worth?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1951 Commander 4 door Need to sell What's it worth?

I have to start off by saying I am out of my element. I am a classic car guy but I'm new to Studebakers. I live within 25 minutes of South Bend and grew up hearing about them. There a boxes in the car labeled with what is in them. It looks like most if not all of the chrome is there. I would like to sell the car because I have 3 little ones which limit my time to restore this car.

I have attached some photos of the car. I know nothing about them and would love for it to go to a good home.

Please add comments and let me know what it is worth to y'all.

Thank you for looking and have a great day.

Josh
    Attached Files

The value is the hardest thing to determine, Your car is a Land Cruiser, the top of the line for 1951 and therefore the least sporty too. Sadly the 2 door models are generally more desirable. A running, driving stopping 51 Land Cruiser with no rust should fetch over $5000+, in my opinion. Condition is everything. So if it would take more than $10,000 to restore your car and its value after that would be $10,000 to say $25,000 most buyers of a project are looking for a bargain. The more rust the lower the valve. My best guess is you could be offered as little a $500-$1000 for it. The clock in the dash is worth perhaps $100-500 on its own and the bullet nose (chrome) also have value provided it isn't pitted badly. I hope you find a buyer who walks away with you both satisfied. Other hopefully contribute to this discussion to aid you with it sale.

Comment

Value is very hard(impossible?) to determine from a few pictures. Condition is everything. Does it run, are there parts missing, rust, etc. Ideally, someone in your area will see this and ask to see the car up close. Hopefully, you can come to an agreement on value.