PDA

View Full Version : Packard V8 powered Transtar pickup

58 Transtar
11-30-2017, 07:48 PM
Well, I have been driving the truck around locally and getting the bugs out of it. The first thing was to replace the Carter 4 barrel with an Edelbrock 600 cfm 4 barrel. With replacing the power steering assist with a Vega power steering box, the steering is so much nicer. If the factory would have used the bigger Packard V8 with power steering they probably could have saved their truck market. I did bore the Packard from 352 cu.in. to 374 cu. in. WOW! talk about torque. Next step is to disassemble it again, and sandblast. Did I ever tell you how much I hate sandblasting? Barry

PackardV8
11-30-2017, 07:57 PM
Congrats Barry on getting that big project on the road; agree completely. I said for fifty years Studebaker should have had the Packard V8 as an option in trucks. It took you and me to do it for them. I've been driving my '55 E12 with the '56 Caribbean 2x4s for a couple of years now and love everything about it more I did than with the Studebaker V8. And yes, Barry, big block torque rules!

jack vines

DieselJim
11-30-2017, 09:04 PM
Several years ago, there was a truck salvage yard here in South Bend. We were able to tour it after the owner passed. There was a E35 tractor with a Packard engine there. The yard was in probate and nothing could be purchased.

12-01-2017, 08:24 AM