PDA

View Full Version : Fuel System: Need some help with a BBR1 Carter carb setup on my 2R5

cavanbound
11-11-2017, 11:54 AM
I have limited experience doing anything but basic troubleshooting of carbs, but decided to pull and rebuild the Carter BBR1 on my 2R5, after a chronic flooding problem developed. It was probably just float adjustment, but I decided to do the full rebuild anyway.

After rebuild, I've got a few related problems. Though the flooding is addressed and the engine now fires with choke, the carburetor throttle lever (attached to the extended foot pedal armature) is obviously adjusted incorrectly, as the engine revs to full throttle immediately after firing. I've shut it down twice immediately now, and have the top off the carb again. I think I may have goofed up the exterior throttle lever assembly - I can't find a reference photo showing the angle at which this should be setup. Also, I've got some problem with how the accelerator pump is setup - there is a notch half-way down the flat shaft, and it seems logical that this should be where the arm engages that shaft - but the only good reference I found (Mike's carburetors - tear-down and reassembly video on YouTube) was a bit unclear on this.

I've shot a quick video clip of how mine is setup: https://youtu.be/MCfXtHObCOY. Also, a few reference photos below. Can anyone point me in the right direction?

68447 68448

jackb
11-11-2017, 12:00 PM
What is maybe happening to yours, which is happening to mine, is that the lever (with the 2 rod holes), is rotating around the throttle shaft. It is a "pinch" fitment to adjust the accelerator rod to throttle shaft. After some use (60+ years) the pinch doesn't want to pinch anymore due to ground down condition. Especially doesn't like kickdown activity. I have to adjust mine every month or so....

cavanbound
11-11-2017, 12:07 PM