PDA

View Full Version : Engine: prelube a rebuilt/dormant V8 engine

jclary
10-01-2017, 10:09 PM
I know we have discussed this topic several times. However, as I get closer to having everything in place to attempt to fire up a 289 that was rebuilt, years ago, and never run, I find myself anxious, and concerned that I do the necessary steps. If I had the experience of some of our members, who actually earn a living as a mechanic, I would probably rip this engine apart, inspect, measure, and then reassemble it. But, I know, not being a pro, I am perfectly capable of doing more harm, than good if I tear it down, find everything is good, and then mess it up putting it back together.:o

The long time SDC member who rebuilt the engine, died before he could install it in his truck. Another long time member, a professional mechanic, told me he knew the man who did the work, and he knew him as a very conscientious, and competent mechanic. He said he had examined this engine, and it looked good. It changed hands at least once, but except for accumulated shop dust, is all intact. The crank will turn with the normal resistance of a newly "tight" rebuild. A light, shined inside the spark plug openings, reveals very clean pistons, with no staining or carbon from ignition since the rebuild.