Things keep turning up

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Things keep turning up

I'm developing a new respect to you guys who have maintained and sold parts throughout the years. I'm now realizing, it's much easier to buy, and store a few parts through the years, than to maintain an inventory list, price list, pack, haul, unpack, vend, load back up, haul it back home, only to repeat the process time and time again.

What I'm discovering, is that it is awfully easy to overlook how much stuff accumulates. As I'm gathering parts for a meet this weekend, I keep uncovering stuff I either forgot about, or don't recall having. Today's find, was a NOS heater core. I'm not going to post the part number here, 'cause after doing that with another part, a couple of days ago, I have several private messages wanting me to sell it to them. That's not such a bad thing, but not being a professional parts expert, I need to do some research to be fair to potential customers, and myself. Using the SI parts catalog for reference, I see where they are pricing the heater core for over $300, and will not sell one without a core in exchange. I've also found a dual headlight bucket assembly, complete with sealed beams.

There were several occasions where I purchased parts in "lots." Back then, I was busy in my job, attending to family, and engaged in my own restoration projects. I put the parts in storage, usually only visited when needing something for my projects. Some of the stuff came from back rooms at a few antique shops, where the proprietor was tired of moving them from corner to corner. I bought some, and acquired others for merely loading them up and hauling them away. That "someday"...that I was going to "organize" never came. But if I don't do something, there will be another widow, helplessly staring at a pile of clutter she shouldn't have to deal with.