PDA

View Full Version : 63 radio schematic

Kdancy
01-09-2008, 07:08 PM
http://i84.photobucket.com/albums/k22/studehdtp53/img020.jpg

StudeRich
01-10-2008, 02:09 AM
It's a bit tough without a question, but it seems kind of self explanatory, take the obvious first.

(1) The 12V power (Brown)is going to have to go through a low amp fuse about 4 or 5, to the Accessory side of the Ignition Switch.

(2) The green is the speaker signal to the fader (already done)

(3) The Black Gnd. is dash (Chassis) Ground or split 3 ways and go to each speaker AND Ground near Radio.

(4) One of the Whites (output from fader) then has to be front and the other rear speaker. Some radio circuits have the second speaker Term grounded to frame, others ground to Radio chassis. I believe JDP told you to just ground them, on a Stude. Transistor Radio.

If you get rear, when turning fader left, reverse the two white wires.

Now that would be what I would do, but I am not an electronics expert or Radio expert, so I would not feel comfortable having you do that without seeing your complete setup. In other words get another opinion to verify this first BEFORE powering up!

StudeRich
Studebakers Northwest
Ferndale, WA

Mike
01-10-2008, 07:00 AM
The fader and rear speaker were an option added to the radio installation. What's missing on your drawing is the front speaker connector with the power lead.
If you had only the front speaker, it had a connector that plugged directly into the radio; and the power lead from the radio fuse plugged into the position you labled "12V", on the speaker connector.
To add the fader and rear speaker, you unplugged the front speaker from the radio; and connected the fader to the radio as you show. Then, the front speaker connector, with the power lead was to be plugged into the female fader connector, ("???" on your drawing).